Save Byrne Creek Forest East

Save Byrne Creek Forest East / Announcements / Mayor Corrigan and Head Planner for the City of Burnaby - Working Together for 50% Growth in 25 Years / Comments

2017-11-03 21:45

we all know what a lot of people would like to do with this rogue mayor and council in burnaby bc canada.

We need people to step up for burnaby council election in sep 2018. hopefully the green party will pick up the torch and we will follow and some of us will be elected to sway the old wheel in favor of citizen taxpayers.

many people have written to all levels of government in BC and NO HELP, they are all gutless politician political wonders.

Tom in Burnaby BC
Jen in Burnaby-Edmonds

2017-11-05 16:16

I am a long-time Burnaby resident and I am in support of saving Byrne Creek Forest East, for the sake of the flora and fauna. In terms of population, the projected growth in Burnaby, BC, is an average annual rate of 1.0% between 2031 and 2041, according to the City of Burnaby's website. This growth projection does not seem unreasonable.

What is the source for Mayor Corrigan's "crazed vision" of increasing the population of Burnaby by 50% within 25 years? The estimates of Burnaby's growth projections for 2021 to 2041, in the City's Official Community Plan (OCP), are intended to assist in long range planning and serve as a guideline only.

Burnaby is a growing city. A grand plan and vision to make Burnaby, a strong, successful and sustainable city, is an obvious matter of paramount importance to me. Protecting Byrne Creek Forest East is vital to Burnaby's good health and inevitable growth. People need a place to live. Flora and fauna need a place to thrive. We can provide both. Hand in hand, we can develop housing plans and protect our environment. We have no other choice. We need to do both. There is no other way.