HNS_Haveyouconsidered

Contact the author of the petition

This discussion topic has been automatically created of petition HNS_Haveyouconsidered.

2013-12-21 21:44

I am a parent of a current HNS student and another that would be going in 2 years. I am also a Melrose elementary school teacher with many students who attended HNS and can say with full confidence that the Community will be losing a gem of the city. The school is fantastic just the way it is, but has the potential to make money with before and after hours curriculum such as classes in drama, music and art. There are also many opportunities for grants and fundraising. I feel that decisions have already been made, but when it comes to the future of our community and its youth it worth trying!

2013-12-22 04:04

It is sad that the Highlands Nursery School is being closed. I have had three of my children and four grandchildren attend. I have nothing but praise for the school and teachers.

#3 Christmas miracle: save the HNS and get these displaced kids into preschool.

2013-12-22 04:18

It's always sad to see institutions fall on hard-times and forced to make difficult decisions, which I regret for the HFCC. It's especially sad to see this hardship transferred onto HNS rendering it a going-concern.

For those unfamiliar with HNS, this is a real and authentic preschool; it's not a daycare or learning center that forces unnatural demands on structured learning. It's classic and a sadly dying breed of high-quality, homey, well-balanced early education that not only makes learning fun for our kids, but teaches good values! It's a real honest-to-God preschool!

In the 12/19 meeting called by HNS supporters to hear from the church on their congregations decision to close the school, it was interesting and disappointing to learn that the school's fate was decided by a 2/3rds majority of 50 attending members of its 175 member congregation.